Each team has 4 members each with a distinct position, as shown by the number on their shirt.ᅠ
No 1  -  Is essentially a goal stricker.ᅠ
No 2  -  Also a forward but plays harder especially on defence.
No 3  -  Is the pivotal player between offence and defence who tries to turn all plays to offence.
               He is usually the highest rated player on the team.ᅠ
No 4  -  Or back is the most defensive player whose primary responsibility is to protect the goal area.ᅠ


  • The game is divided into six chukkas with each lasting 7 minutes with a 3 minute interval in between, to allow the players to change horses.
  • The teams change ends whenever a goal is scored.
  • At half time, it is a long standing tradition that the spectators walk onto the field to "stomp the divots" made by the ponies hooves. Chukka comes from the Indian word for a circle or round.


  • All players are rated from -2 to 10 (10 being the highest rating).
  • The team handicap is the sum of its players handicaps.
  • The highest handicapped players in NSW are on 7 goals (Robert Archibald and Glen Gilmore).


  • Please stay behind barriers. Do not approach the field during a game. The field extends 10 metres beyond the red boards.
  • Do not approach the horses and do not pat them.
  • Please watch the game, a polo ball travels at 100km and can sometimes find its way into the spectators at speed.
  • Please keep dogs on leads.